Go Back   PCA GT2, GT3 and Cup Car SIG Forums > GT2/GT3/Cup Car Register Discussions > AutoX, DE and Racing Discussions

AutoX, DE and Racing Discussions All discussions related autoxing, DE, amateur and professional racing activities

Old 09-20-2011, 10:39 AM
Registered Porsche Owner

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Garage
Default Tired of you guys having all the fun!!

Well, I broke down after spending time with Fatih and Brian recently and have signed up for my first DE with SCCA at Summit Point on the Main track this Saturday, Sept. 24.

I hope all goes well and think I should be fine. Haven't tracked since the mid '90's so I will take it easy and not go crazy out there.

Any suggestions are welcome and the only question I have is that i was planning on running with the traction control off. Any thoughts on that being a bad idea? I have been running competitive AX for 7 years now and done pretty well. Pretty controlled and not looking to be a time champ but to really enjoy this great car I have in my garage in a different and exciting venue. I will be running on my street Bridgestone RE-11's which are pretty good and give decent feedback.

Thanks to the local DE guys with the PCA whom have prodded me nicely along the way. Looking forward to a fun and safe Saturday!

Stu
Old 09-20-2011, 02:48 PM
SIG Advocate

Downloads: 12
Uploads: 7
Garage
Default Re: Tired of you guys having all the fun!!

Hahaha, just superb!!!

I'd recommend you do NOT turn off traction control at this time. Autoxers make for great drivers no doubt, but initially I found that most have a tendency to be too abrupt with the controls, whereas you need to smooth it out considerably on the track, which comes naturally within few sessions/events. Just take it easy, get used to the speed, find the line (which does not change from session to session or event to event btw, it is always the same ) and stay consistent, even with the mistakes

The rest will come naturally to you.

Cheers mate and good luck.